Vain – Fisher Amelie.


I avoided the shit out of this book, I don’t even know why. I rolled my eyes when it popped up in my suggested books on Amazon and Goodreads, I skipped over reviews, you get the drift. People kept telling me to read it, but to go in blind. I didn’t want to but ah, what a fool I am. This book, oh my god, this book. Definitely a 5+ star read. It is absolutely beautiful. I laughed, I cried, I cried, I laughed, I smiled huge, I swooned, I cringed, I was scared and I was totally moved. It is part of a series, but there is no cliff hanger and can be read as a standalone, however it is definitely worth following the series. 

I’m stuck with this review, because if you haven’t already read the book, you’re probably avoiding it because you don’t understand the hype and you don’t want to go in blind like myself, but i swear going in blind is the best option. So how do I review this? Alright, if you decide to go in blind, finish reading here. If you want to know a little about the book, keep reading. Excuse me for the quote overload, but this story really has to speak for itself.

Vain is Sophie Price’s story. Sophie is the daughter of a rich father and a gold digging mother. As long as Sophie “keeps up appearances” her father makes sure she wants for nothing, except of course attention.

However, Sophie makes sure she gets that attention from everyone else. Being the leader of her elite group of friends, Sophie can get away with anything, including sleeping with all their boyfriends. That is until Sophie’s luck runs out and she gets caught by the police for the second time with drugs. Her father, the court and her father’s attorney, Pembrook ‘Pemmy’ Harrison decide her fate, and it is worse than she could have ever imagined. Instead of prison, she is sentenced to 6 months as a volunteer at an old friend of Pembrook’s orphanage in Uganda, Africa called Masego.

The week leading up to Africa, Sophie starts to look at herself and her life. She doesn’t like what she sees, but she knows that this is all it could ever be. This is the only life she knows and she couldn’t survive if not for her father’s money.

When Sophie first arrives at Masego, she is still the same old Sophie, thinking about herself, pitying herself, but it’s not before long that her eyes are forced open.

It is a beautiful story of growth, change, loss, awareness, consequences and love.

Amazon Goodreads

Seven Deadly Series:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s