Review: The Witnessing of Matlyn Wren by Jennifer Lynn January

13106792_1172540136130057_1725587048_o.jpg

Sophie’s Review:

29963202It’s moments like this that make me so very grateful that one day, on a whim, I decided to start a blog. Never did I imagine the the absolute highs that this journey would bring.

Today is one of those days.

Today I was fortunate enough to read an ARC of Jennifer Lynn January’s debut novel. In the midst of the longest reading funk I’ve had to date, The Witnessing of Matlyn Wren gripped me by the balls and refused to let me go. I sat on the edge of my seat, waiting, pleading, accepting, right alongside Matlyn and Baker. I devoured the words weaved so perfectly together by Jennifer, a story that was WAY outside my norm but had piqued my curiosity from the beginning.

This story made me laugh, made me stare at the screen in disbelief, made me angry and sad and happy… And then it made me CRY.

It was full of snarky wit, a sense of loss, impending doom, humour, sadness, family, love. The list goes on.

I don’t know what to say other than please, when this book is released in May, pick it up and read it. Come on the journey I just traveled. You won’t regret it.

13148195_1172540086130062_701095385_o.jpg

Leave a Reply

